Happiness

Happiness

IMG_5009

I’ve been wanting to start this blog for a while, as a space to document my life (an online diary so to speak), keep track of my fitness progress, and to also act as a sort of therapeutic space where I can get my thoughts out and clear my head. I figured the best time to start this is now- I’ve been putting it off for long enough!

You see, last weekend I got engaged. I’ve been in this blissful state of happiness ever since, and feel motivated to make positive changes in my life. I’ll talk about that more later, but for now, let me tell you all about the engagement!

My boyfriend (now fiance!) and I had been planning to go ice skating in Bryant Park for about a month. Because I hate crowds and also because neither of us are the greatest ice skaters (I can at least make it around the rink without falling, poor boyfriend has to hold on to the sides of the rink so he doesn’t fall! 😦 ), I told boyfriend we needed to go early in the morning– right when the rink opens. The rink opens at 8am, which is pretty early, but we figured we’d go and get breakfast after. Little did I know what he was planning!

When we got on the ice, I left boyfriend so I could skate around, and he concentrated on moving very slowly without falling. I caught back up to him when I came around the rink, and he put both his hands on my shoulders and started to talk. I could tell he was being weird (the nerves, he later told me), and he started to get very sentimental. I started to get nervous thinking he was about to propose (we’ve been together for 4 years, so I thought this would happen sooner or later). Then he dropped down to one knee and pulled out a box! He opened it and showed me the most beautiful ring and asked me to marry him! I think I acted very nervous and awkward, and I started to laugh because I was aware of the fact that other people were watching this happen, and I am not one to attract attention. Finally, he asked, “Is that a yes?” “Yes!” I said. And people around us started clapping.

IMG_5007

FullSizeRender

He had coordinated with my best friend, and it turns out that she was there taking pictures of the whole thing! I didn’t even notice her as I was paying more attention to make sure boyfriend didn’t fall on the ice. I don’t think the reality of the engagement sunk in until about 20-30 minutes afterward, after I had called all my friends and family. But once it did sink in, I just couldn’t stop smiling! I honestly don’t think I’ve ever heard my mom so excited about anything as when I told her. She had known it was going to happen, and she said she was bursting with excitement all week waiting for me to call her. And when we called boyfriend’s dad, he said the news made his Christmas!

After we left Bryant Park, we went out to breakfast back in our neighborhood, and then went home and popped open a bottle of Veuve (which we’d had for the longest time but never opened), and drank mimosas all day. Later in the afternoon, I was surprised again when my parents showed up. They had made the 2 hour trip to join us for dinner and celebrate with us. It was so cute how excited my parents were, and my Dad told me how proud he was of me.

IMG_5003

After dinner, fiance suggested we go to a bar and grab a drink. Well, when we walked into the bar, all our friends were there waiting to surprise me and celebrate with us! It was such an amazing day, and I don’t think I’ve ever felt so loved (not just by the fiance, but by all our friends and family). It was seriously the perfect day, and the fiance did an absolute amazing job planning it. Apparently, he had asked my Dad’s permission over Thanksgiving, and told all our friends the week before, so I was the last to know the big news! 🙂 I’m not an easy one to surprise, so I have to give him even more credit for pulling everything off so seamlessly.

Looking back, I couldn’t have asked for a better day and I am still absolutely over the moon happy about it! The other day I caught myself literally skipping down the street. So.. maybe it hasn’t fully sunk in yet! Anyway, this is just the start, and I am so excited for many more good times to come..and to start the wedding planning! 🙂

Leave a Reply

