Resolutions

Resolutions

Well, now that we’re a few days into the New Year, I’ve had some time to sit and think about what I want to accomplish in 2016. It’s a big year–not only am I getting married, but I’m also turning 30 in August!

I think it’s good to sit down every once and a while a write out a list of goals or intentions. However, whenever I set out to create one of these lists, I kind of forget about them a month or two later. This year I intend to periodically check back in throughout the year to note my progress, even if this means just rereading the list to myself and mentally acknowledging where I’m at!

As I dive into this year, here’s what I hope to accomplish:


1) Show more gratitude and give back to others. I think with all the horrible things that happen in this world on a daily basis, it’s important to be grateful for what we have, even the little things. And I want to be more charitable, and while I already donate to various charities throughout the year, this year I want to actually volunteer. I’ve already signed up with the ASPCA, and have my volunteer orientation in 2 weeks!

2) Get leaner/stronger/fitter. Since my birthday last August, I’ve been working out consistently and have really changed up my workout routine. Less cardio, more plyo’s. Less heavy lifting, more reps and resistance. Already, I can see changes, like the ability to do 3 sets of mountain climbers without dropping to the ground! And more definition in my abs! 🙂 I want to continue on this track, progress further, and reach new goals and fitness milestones. I don’t want to take off more than one day in a row from working out because I find that if I get out of my routine, it is really, really hard for me to get back into it (the exception being if I’m sick). Working out doesn’t always mean going to the gym, so I’m pretty confident I can keep this up by being active in some way!

3) Eat better. For one, I want to eat less meat. I aim to do this for a number of reasons: compassion, sustainability, health. Factory farms are terrible places and antibiotic resistance is a scary reality. Besides that, how cute are pigs? And did you know they are really, really smart too? I also want to stop drinking caffeine during the week. I love it, so it took me a long time to realize it makes me feel like absolute crap. It makes my stomach hurt and interferes with my normal sleep. While I don’t mind enjoying a cup of diner coffee on the weekend, I need to switch to decaf tea during the week. Also, I have a pretty bad sweet tooth, which the fiancé can attest to (he recently watched me singlehandedly eat a bag of Swedish fish), so I want to eat less sweets and sugar in general (cutting out coffee will help too!)

4) Spend more time with family and friends. I see my brother maybe twice a year, but want to change this–especially because we only live a couple hours apart! I also realize that my only grandparent left is my Mom’s mom, and I want to spend as much time with her as possible too. The fiance and I always have so much fun with my parents, and although we see them fairly often, I hope to plan some more fun times with them this year as well. The same goes for friends, especially the ones who live close and I still don’t see as often as I should. I think I will try to host more dinners or cocktail parties as an excuse to get our friends together more!

5) Live more in the moment and not worry so much about the future all the time. Pretty self-explanatory, but not always as easy as it sounds.

6) Take steps that will benefit my career. Right now, I work at a job that I doubt will be my career. If I’m being honest, I’m not even entirely sure what I want my career to look like. But in 2016, I want to take some steps to set myself up for the future, whatever that may look like.

7) Move. We’ll have lived in our apartment for 4(!) years come May 1. It’s time for a change. I remember I used to joke with the fiance and tell him he couldn’t propose until we moved, and I think he truly thought I was serious. Actually, I was mostly serious! Ha. Our apartment is just so teeny that it doesn’t feel like an adult apartment, and I felt like when you get married you’re an adult. So moving to a new apartment definitely needs to happen this year!

8) Take better care of my health. I went for the dentist for the first time in 3 years in 2015 (don’t worry, no cavities! The dentist was actually pretty impressed, ha!), but I can’t keep putting important things like that off for so long. I also want to deal with my anxiety better. Sometimes it gets out of hand and takes over, and I don’t want that to keep living under its control. I need to learn to deal with my anxiety better, as well as depression (seasonal depression, post-vacation depression, Sunday night depression, the post-wedding depression that is sure to come). I also need to learn to relax –something anyone will say I have a hard time doing. I need to learn that it’s okay to just chill out and not have an agenda. I don’t have to be productive all the time, taking a break will help me be more productive when I need to be!

9) I also want to make more “me” time. This may seem weird given that I’m getting married this year, but the fiance and I spend so much time together, and sometimes I feel like I need to pursue my interests. I mostly do, but I still want to make more time for myself to do some things like make macarons and learn calligraphy–things I’ve wanted to do for a long time but haven’t tried!

10) Dress better. Working at a startup where it’s acceptable to show up in sweats has made me truly take advantage of dressing casual at work. But now I never actually dress up, and I feel kind of frumpy. I feel like I still dress like a kid instead of an adult with a job. When I realized I had nothing to wear for Christmas other than black jeans and black t-shirts, I think that was the turning point. I need to revamp my wardrobe!

Here’s to looking more put together and feeling more put together in 2016!

 

Leave a Reply

