Wedding Invites

Wedding Invites

In the craziness of the move, I had to get one very important wedding-related task completed: mailing out our wedding invites! I ended up using Minted, the same site I used to design our Save the Date photos.

I wanted something that was rustic but had a romantic touch, and found these. I thought they were perfect for the vision we were going for, and what is so great about Minted is that once you personalize your invite on their website, they have a designer perfect it, and then send you a proof to approve. So the designer was able to change some little touches (like some of the font) which was awesome. We went with the matching RSVP cards, but did some custom design when it came to the color so that they would match better– I loved the idea of doing them in a blush pink to match our wedding colors!

FullSizeRender (2)

FullSizeRender (4)

IMG_6347

FullSizeRender (3)

Now, when I had originally looked for wedding invites, I was trying to find something that incorporated lace, since we are getting married at the Lace Factory, after all. But I didn’t see anything I loved, which originally made me a little disappointed. Then, I had the idea that I could add a touch of lace to the invite, and I knew that’s what I was going to do!

I ordered some lace and some twine (I figured that would help with the rustic touch) and decided I was going to put it around the whole package: invite, RSVP card, and return envelope, to hold them all together. At first, I started by gluing the lace with fabric glue before I realized that was going to be incredibly time consuming because I had to make each band of lace, wait for it to dry, and then slip them back over the invites. I was doing this at midnight on a Friday (the first free time I had had after the move), and was exhausted and wanted to make the process simpler. So I experimented with tying the lace together with a piece of twine–and I loved the result! So that’s what I ended up doing. It still took me some time to do, but much, much less than if I had glued the lace. I was worried that some may have looked sloppy or had messy bows since I was doing this so late and was still incredibly exhausted from the move, but the next day, when we started putting them in envelopes, they all had actually come out really, really well. I couldn’t have been happier with the result, and loved that I was able to add a personal touch to our invitations!

FullSizeRender (1)

FullSizeRender (5).jpg

Leave a Reply

